That skinny person that can eat anything.

You all know that person that can eat anything and is forever skinny.You know we all have one in our lives. Yeah, for me, that’s my husband. I love him, but he has a serious sweet tooth. And it’s so hard sometimes to resist the goodies he brings into the house. And I’m never going to force him to eat differently or try to change his eating habits. He has to want to. He suggested that he eats his snacks away from me- but that doesn’t do either of us any good. It would be like a secret love affair with sweets. And I wouldn’t want him to do that. Also, I need to learn how to resist these things. I have to strengthen my will power. He even reminded me that we would buy a pie, and basically half it up. My half going to my hips, butt and thighs, and his no where- into the abyss.

Hey some skinny people wish they weren’t. We are all different and have our own battles. But I’m not going to ask him to change how he eats, that would be selfish of me. So while he had his pie a la mode- I had my Body by Vi, shake. I made it with 6 ounces of soy milk, and 2 ounces of coconut water, 3 pineapple chunks, and ice. It tasted like a Piña Colada! De-Lish! I was proud of myself. Then later he offered me ice cream, because the carton didn’t fit in the freezer! OMG! That used to be my logic! I would have said yes to that. I know he doesn’t do it on purpose, he’s not taunting me- he just wants to share the things he likes with me. And that’s sweet of him, but I have to say no several times before he stops offering. Maybe he thinks I’m starving myself? But I’m not. I feel good.

This morning was a nightmare, 1 hour in traffic on the 91 expressway- then a flat tire when we got to the toll road. We carpool together (husband & I), so he changed the tire. So afterwards,  when we were close to my job, he wanted doughnuts. We stop and he gets back into the car and says, I got you one. So I start to eat a doughnut hole, and I just take a bite. Because, I don’t want him to feel bad- but I feel guilty and horrible. It also, tasted so gross to me- my taste buds are changing.

I don’t know what to do. I don’t want to feel bad, and I don’t want to make him feel bad. I tried telling him not to offer me anything. If it were a friend or someone else, I would just not talk to them… But this is my husband, and he’s skinny and can eat anything and he does. I love him, and I don’t want him to change unless he wants to. But I just wish he understood how hard it is to not eat the junky, sugar, salty things that are bad for me. He’s never been overweight, he doesn’t know what it’s like. I am definitely being challenged.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “That skinny person that can eat anything.”

  1. lunitastar says :

    My husband is healthy along side with me, but buys ice cream all the time. & he does gain the weight, luckily he lost a lot weight w me, but I understand the feeling of You trying to be healthy & hes sitting there feeling not guilty one bit about what he is eating. Frustrating indeed.

Leave a Reply

