2 is better than 1!

Photo Apr 12, 12 26 45 PM

So today is Friday, in the corporate world… basically it’s the “Unofficial Slack Off Day”. People arrive late, leave early and take long lunches. So when my fellow designers left early for their long lunch and I was sitting here working like a doofus… It dawned on me. Long lunch for them = Longer walk for me! I walked 4 times around our campus… Thus bringing my lunchtime walk to a distance of 2.17 miles. WAY TO GO ME! Although, looking at the time – I think I’ve been selling myself short with only 1 mile a day. I could totally do this every weekday.

I always feel so clear headed when I come back from my walk. I don’t really think- I zone out, listen to music and let my mapmywalk coach tell me when I’ve hit a mile… this time 2! To think I used to just sit during my lunches! Preposterous!! I have so much energy now! And I always look forward to my walk now. I’m excited to workout. Now, I can’t imagine my life without it. I understand why people who workout are so happy! Endorphins! Elle Woods, you were totally right! “Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy. Happy people just don’t shoot their husbands.” – Legally Blonde

I’m looking forward to my workout later too. Why didn’t I start this sooner? I feel like the more I work out and eat right, the more energy I have! When I wasn’t in this mindset, and I wasn’t making en effort to be healthy – I thought working out and eating fruits and veggies would make me hungry and tired. It’s the complete opposite!  Also, going back to my mind being clearer after I walk – when you exercise your body, you’re exercising your mind too. Think about it. You get your blood pumping – that delivers oxygen to your muscles so they can contract/grow/workout… your brain is a muscle! When you work out, it does your whole body good! Get it in! Where/whenever you can. There is no excuse! “I don’t have time IS the adult version of the dog ate my homework.” I just walked 2 miles on my lunch break. I’m going to continue to do that everyday and workout at home. Our choices, dictate the life we lead.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “2 is better than 1!”

  1. sheehanfitness says :

    I’m glad this motivated you so much today! Isn’t it amazing how living well makes you feel well. Its amazing craziness =) Keep up the walking!

Leave a Reply

