The Word Diet

So a co-worker asked me this morning how my “diet” was going. Most people use this word as a verb. To restrict oneself to small amounts or special kinds of food in order to lose weight: “it is difficult to diet in a house full of cupcakes”. Let’s get this straight. I’m not on a diet, I’m changing my lifestyle – there is a BIG DIFFERENCE. And that’s what I told him. I prefer the noun, diet. The kinds of food that a person, animal, or community habitually eats. You could say, I changed my diet, but I’m not “ON A DIET”. It seems to me, that when people refer to diets (the verb) – it is a temporary thing, and they go back to they way they used to be. Which some refer to as “Yo-Yo Dieting”. I refrain from using the word diet, because I don’t ever plan to go back to how I used to be. This isn’t temporary for me. I’m changing my lifestyle.

Photo Apr 15, 12 56 50 PM

In other news, my cube-mate decides to put a vase of dum-dum lollipops on her desk…

Directly across from me…

Is she trying to test me?

Challenge…

Accepted!!!

In other news, I seriously could have taken the easy way out and not walked today… but I did NOT! It was cool, rainy, cloudy, and windy and I walked. First when I started walking, no one was out. Then towards the end of my walk – I saw a few people. I’d like to think that I inspired them… maybe, maybe not. No Excuses. Period. I have a goal, and I intend to meet it. Taking it easy, won’t produce results. I walked 2.17 miles today. And I am very proud to say that, today – Not only did I NOT STOP going UP the 3 flights of stairs to my office – I RAN UP THEM! After my 2 mile walk!! YEAH YEAH YEAH!!!

I want to say R.I.P to all the people who lost their lives today at the Boston Marathon, and pray for all those that were injured/and or effected. It’s very sad that someone would do that. There are some truly horrible people out there.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “The Word Diet”

  1. Liezab says :

    Awesome, Naomi. That’s amazing! Running up the stairs -woohoo!
    And I’m with you. I’ve changed my lifestyle. There is no going back. 🙂

Leave a Reply

