Mostly, Mental.

fitness_mental1

I’ve been so stressed lately. And I’m trying to get my head in order. It’s so hard to find my motivation. I know why I started. But I just want to eat and sleep. I can’t focus. I’m having such a hard time right now. I feel like I’m half-stepping my fitness right now. Today is weigh day- I’m not really looking forward to it because I’ve been slacking. Even though I know I have support, I do feel alone sometimes. This is my weight to bear and lose. And that is something only I can do. This is a real struggle.

UPDATE: I guess I should have been a little more clear. My wanting to eat has nothing to do with hunger. It’s a compulsive behavior for me. I’m a compulsive over-eater and I’m trying to stop this behavior. This is a eating disorder, just like bulimia and anorexia are eating disorders. This is very much a mental thing. I eat my emotions and I’m super stressed about finding a job and trying to be able to support my family. As of May 17th, I won’t have a job because I’m a contractor and my contract won’t be renewed. I’ll be able to get unemployment until I can find a job- but it will be about a 4th of what I make. As someone who was unemployed for 2.5 years after being laid off (and having a family now)… this is scary and stressful. So I want to eat to make myself feel better. I’m not hungry, I get enough nutrition in my Body by Vi shakes (more nutrition in 1 shake than most people get in a week) as well as my healthy snacks and my lunch. I should also add, I want to sleep to avoid my problems. This behavior is associated with my battle with depression – which oddly enough… also makes me want to eat. These are my mental roadblocks.

582014_10100148653509371_815984580_n

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

17 responses to “Mostly, Mental.”

  1. Ashley @ OurPersonalRecords says :

    Don’t try to tackle too much at once. When we set too many goals all at once we are setting ourselves up for failure. Try tackling one thing at a time. Maybe focus on regular exercise. I swear that when I am being active my desire to eat better follows. And as far as getting out of a funk exercise should help with that too. And remember half-steeping exercise is better than not doing it at all. Keep your head up!

    • naomisilas7 says :

      Thank you! I don’t think I have too many goals, I know everything is one step at a time- and I’m not trying to over do it. I’m just overwhelmed with stress which is unrelated but effecting my me mentally (and fitness is mental). I honestly need to clear my mind and filter out the negative… Thanks!! I will try very hard to keep my head up!

  2. Becoming the Best Me says :

    I completely agree with Ashley! Exercise is the key. Doing something is better than not doing anything at all. I have times where I just want to sleep all day. Especially days when my daughter does. You just have to do it and get it over with. Do you enjoy your exercises? If not, find something you like to do. There’s so many fun ways to exercise

  3. sheehanfitness says :

    I had a week like this about two weeks ago. I went to donate blood that same week and they said my iron was too low. It pretty much explained why I was feeling so tired and constantly hungry. My diet wasn’t really based on nutrients so much as it was based on not eating more than 1000 calories a day so my body was retaliating against me. I’ve changed my diet from calorie counting to eating clean, nutritious foods instead and I feel 100% better. I have energy, I don’t look so pale, and most importantly I have my motivation back. Hope you feel better!

    • naomisilas7 says :

      Thank you! I’m glad you are getting the nutrition you need. Unfortunately for me, my want to eat has absolutely nothing to with hunger. I’ve been looking into clean eating and I really like the idea- I think getting my husband on board might be the struggle. I wouldn’t want to buy double/multiple groceries.

      • sheehanfitness says :

        I’m not on a ‘totally clean’ diet but if I’m presented with a choice, I try to go as close to the original source as possible. My husband lives on taco bell and energy drinks but he also loves the ‘clean choices’ that I offer him too. Just talk with him and find out what of the clean stuff he likes/loves and buy the things that you two have mutual grounds on. You by no means have to completely change your shopping list =)

      • naomisilas7 says :

        Thanks! That’s a good idea!

  4. Jenn Maine says :

    Arg! That place led you on for so long. I’m disappointed that they are letting your contract expire. This happens so often to people in our country, it’s so wrong. I love you and know you’ll find something else soon, well, because you’re awesome. Something I try to remember when I’m stressing (as you know, I have issues with anxiety/depression as well) is that allowing myself to overly stress to a point of it not being constructive hurts more than it helps. Plus, in the end, we can react to our reality however we choose, but it doesn’t change our reality. I know you know this stuff already. 🙂 just a reminder. And a ((hug)). Love you. Jenn

    • naomisilas7 says :

      It’s not my co-workers or even my department, it’s the people who are handling the money – which sucks even more. My co-workers tried to see if I could get a contract with a different agency – but it was a no go because of budget cuts. So, I’m ok with that. The last few months I felt too creative for the place anyway- so I’m not mad about it… just feeling pressure/stress because I got a little stinker at home who likes to eat! haha… I’m coming to terms with it, because I do know that everything will be ok. And very true, I can only control my reactions… so I’m trying to be as proactive as I can. I can always use a reminder! Thanks chica! I love you too! Hugz!!! -Naomi

Leave a Reply

