Blood Pressure & Cholesterol

So I know I’ve talked about my blood pressure before and mentioned trying to keep my sugar down. Because I am obese, I am at risk for high blood pressure, diabetes, high cholesterol, heart disease and stroke. Basically, my life is at risk. Every pound I lose, I am closer to being healthy. I’m not there yet, but I am well on my way. I just want to share some numbers with you. I had a health screening at work March 18, 2013. I think that was the day everything clicked in my head and it got all the gears working in my head. What was I doing to myself? And What would happen if I didn’t do anything about my health? Those were the plaguing questions on my mind. Would I live to see my son graduate from college? Married? My doctor was so scared when I was pregnant that I would have a heart attack or a stroke (Preeclampsia- high blood pressure while pregnant)… I did not understand the seriousness. My father has heart disease (Aortic valve stenosis), diabetes, high cholesterol and a number of other health problems related to these. He was diagnosed with diabetes first. My mom has diabetes, and high blood pressure. Both of my grandmothers had diabetes, and they died too young – I barely got to know them. I look at my sons precious face and I want to be around, and healthy to see him live his life and be the person he’s going to be. I don’t want to make life hard for him. I don’t want to be on medications, or in a wheel chair… that’s where I was headed.

March 18, 2013

Weight 286 lbs

BMI 48

Total Cholesterol 181 (Optimal is under 200)

HDL Cholesterol 28 (Optimal should be equal or greater than 60)

Total/HDL Ratio 6.4 (Optimal is less than 4.0)

Blood Pressure 131/90 (Desirable 119/79 or below)

Fasting Blood Sugar 83 (Normal is less than 100)

 

June 15, 2013

Weight 250 lbs

BMI 41.6

Total Cholesterol 185 (Optimal is under 200)

HDL Cholesterol 36 (Optimal should be equal or greater than 60) (Good Cholesterol)

LDL Cholesterol 95 (Desirable should be less than 100) (Bad Cholesterol)

Triglycerides 217 (Desirable should be less than 150)

Total/HDL Ratio 5.1 (Optimal is less than 4.0)

Blood Pressure 122/78 (Desirable 119/79 or below)

Fasting Blood Sugar 75 (Normal is less than 100)

These results show that my sugar, blood pressure, and cholesterol are lowering… and I’m taking steps in the right direction. I feel good comparing these numbers. I’ll have another set of numbers to compare at the end of August. I need to work on lowering my LDL cholesterol. I have raised my HDL cholesterol I am still in the optimum range- but at this point it’s a balancing act- lowering LDL and raising HDL. I’m still at risk for heart disease at this point. I think my biggest problems right now are cheese and red meat. I enjoy steak and ground beef- even though I get extra lean- it doesn’t help my cholesterol… Cheese… Oh how I love thee… let me count the ways… I would say Cheese is my Frenemy right now. I try to reduce it, I try to cut it out… but I love it. If you know, does reduced fat cheese or skim-dairy taste the same? I suppose I’ll be blogging about it soon. haha, I’ll let you guys know.

I feel like this weight-loss journey has become a number game. Pounds, calories, body fat percentage, BMI, blood pressure, cholesterol, sugar… I’ve become good at documenting these numbers and comparing them to track my progress. It’s very validating. I’m also learning how to live a healthy life. I’ll be around much longer to see my son grow up.

I do want to mention, that there are tons of testimonials online (YouTube or Google) – for ViSalus Products and the Body by Vi 90 Day Challenge about lowering High Blood Pressure, and Lowering Cholesterol, and helping people with diabetes. I’m not saying these shakes are magic- there’s not magical cure for anything- but getting the proper nutrition and losing weight – lowers your risk for these diseases. It’s kind of a no-brainer. I’ve included a chart to compare the nutrients/calorie comparison- it also breaks down the cost for the Body by Vi Shakes vs. what you have to eat to get the nutrition that is in a Body by Vi Shape Shake. For more information visit http://naomisilas7.bodybyvi.com/challenge

Nutrition-Shakes-Visalus-Shakes-Review-1

nutrition-label

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. August 13, 2013 | Living Too Large - August 13, 2013

Leave a Reply

