R.I.P. Hotsauce & other things

I’ve decided to give up the bottle… Of Hotsauce that is. This is a big deal because I love Hotsauce. But I know it’s crammed with sodium. I’ve decided to make my own chile (my grandpa’s recipe) and either make or buy only fresh salsa. I love hot and spicy food and I can’t live without these, so I need healthier/lower sodium alternatives.

I also want to say that today I really wanted to eat extra… But I didn’t. That is because I was so tired and wanted a pick me up that food would provide. I went to bed at 12:30 and had to be up at 4… It’s 11:30 and I’m still not fully awake. I’ll be glad when our car is fixed and I can resume my regular schedule.

I believe this is part of the reason I’m unmotivated and been eating more- including my poor choices… It’s hard to stay awake let alone move when you are falling asleep standing up… Yesterday I got my hair cut, and my stylist said I looked great (she knows I’m on a weightloss journey)… And I said thank you but took a minute to think that just because people say that doesn’t mean I should stop what I’m doing and get comfortable. In my head I thought, I’m still not where I want to be… And that needs to be my mindset.

Also I noticed that food is very accessible at work (and cheap or free)… I used to not have cash on me because of vending machines at work – or avoid the cafeteria. But I’m in a department that has a little snack table and people bring in treats all the time… Also Friday bagels at my old job are Friday donuts at my new one… I never liked bagels but donuts seem to be harder to resist since I craved them during my pregnancy… I guess I just have to remember there’s no nutritional value in a donut.

Also the cafeteria, has home cooked amazing food and snacks at wholesale prices and you don’t need money- only your badge to deduct the food cost from your payroll… I’ve been eating more eggs- when I’m hungry- not horrible but I should really substitute for egg whites. I need to think of my cholestorol. I also have been drinking pop (soda) more… Because it’s there and fizzy and like $.60… Not good reasons… But they were justified in my head at the time. I don’t think I can say goodbye completely to pop… But I do think I will limit it to once a week (8oz only) and only if I crave it. More like a treat than something that I know won’t actually quench my thirst because its a dehydrant. I haven’t been doing horrible on my water intake- somewhere between a half gallon and gallon- but not good since it’s been in the 90’s and 100’s for 3 weeks… I’m most likely retaining water.

And instead of falling asleep on the couch when I get home- I’m going to make myself do a biggest loser workout. I’ve been neglecting my DVDs.

We decided to move, and that we’ve been batshit crazy for commuting so long. We’ve been wasting time sitting in traffic for 4 hours a day and spending basically rent getting to and from work in a month. We’re moving to Orange County because we work there… And no matter how much cheaper Riverside and Corona are than OC we’re spending double because of gas and tolls. So come December… I’ll have 4 more hours in my life and 400 more dollars in our bank. I plan to get a quick workout in before work when this happens.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

